Get your aviation career off the ground, start here

Find a course

Choose a Category
  • Engineering Training
  • Upskilling
  • Skills Recognition
  • Pilot theory
  • Pilot training
  • Aeroskills
  • Flight Attendant Training
Are you an Australian resident

Part 66 Examinations

Aviation Australia is approved to conduct CASR and EASA Part 66 Basic Knowledge Examinations for A and B Category Licences.

Multi-Choice Question examinations are delivered via a computer based program in all approved locations, essay examinations are paper-based.

Part 66 examinations are conducted in accordance with a prescriptive Examination Standard which is laid out in the respective Competent Authority’s regulations.  The standards include but are not limited to:

  • Multi-Choice Question (MCQ) format for all modules with a single question, three multi-choice answers
  • Essay questions for modules 7, 9 and 10
  • MCQ examinations have a prescriptive number of questions per module which may differ between categories/sub-categories of licence
  • The examinations are time based; MCQ examinations are based on a nominal average of 75 seconds (1.25 minutes) per question, essay questions are 20 minutes in length
  • The pass mark is 75% for MCQ and essays
  • If you fail an examination then you cannot resit for at least 90 days except in the case of the MTO delivering a course of remediation for the failed topics then you may resit after 30 days
  • The maximum number of consecutive attempts for each module is three.  Further sets of three attempts are allowed with a 12 month waiting period between sets
  • Once passed, examination credits have an individual 10 year life towards the application of a licence

Please see the below tables, detailing the modules applicable for the category/sub-category of licences as well as links to the respective Examination Standards.

Book now

CASR Part 66 Basic Knowledge Modules

EASA Part 66 Basic Knowledge Modules

Examination bookings