Get your aviation career off the ground, start here

Find a course

Choose a Category
  • Engineering Training
  • Upskilling
  • Skills Recognition
  • Pilot theory
  • Pilot training
  • Aeroskills
  • Flight Attendant Training
Are you an Australian resident

Aviation Australia co-supported award at the annual Aerospace Industry Education Awards

Aviation Australia was proud to co-support the Honourable Company of Air Pilots Award at the annual Aerospace Industry Education Awards, on the 21 November, 2017.

In its 13th year, the Aerospace Industry Education Awards recognises the efforts and achievements of students and teachers from 17 Aerospace Gateway Schools across Queensland. The awards were held at Parliament House and presented by Mr. Steven Koch, Assistant Director-General, Quality and Performance, Department of Education and Training.

The Gateway to Industry Schools Program gives students the opportunity to gain the knowledge and skills required to enter the aviation and aerospace industry. Approximately eighty nominations were received this year across 12 award categories, and the winners are:

  • Year 10 GE Aviation Aerospace Award – Simoné Audie (Mueller College) and Jordan Barr (Iona College)
    • Sponsored by GE Aviation
  • Year 11 Brisbane Airport Corporation Aerospace Studies Award – Jonah Jacobson (Indooroopilly State High School)
    • Sponsored by Brisbane Airport Corporation
  • Year 11 Qantas Quest Award – Chantal Kander (Mueller College)
    • Sponsored by Qantas Airways
  • Year 12 Airways Aviation Aerospace Studies Award – Finn Morris (Aviation High School)
    • Sponsored by Airways Aviation
  • Spirit of Boeing Award – Nicholas Vardenga (Iona College)
    • Sponsored by Boeing Defence Australia
  • Royal Aeronautical Society Award – Rowan McNab (Atherton State High School)
    • Sponsored by the Royal Aeronautical Society
  • The Honourable Company of Air Pilots Award – Chantal Kander (Mueller College) and Molly Amorous (Aviation High School)
    • Sponsored by The Honourable Company of Air Pilots with the co-support of Aviation Australia
  • AYAA Future Leader Aerospace Award – Jack Lord (Oakey State High School) and Emma Sanjurjo (Indooroopilly State High School)
    • Sponsored by Australian Youth Aerospace Association
  • TAE Aerospace Young Innovators Award – Ben Chambers (Mueller College)
    • Sponsored by TAE Aerospace
  • Female Aerospace Award – Prakhya Sharma (Indooroopilly State High School)
    • Sponsored by Boeing Defence Australia (BDA)
  • Aeroskills Scholarship – Clark Co (Calamvale Community College)
    • Sponsored by Boeing Defence Australia (BDA)
  • Teacher Award – Kelly Breen (Indooroopilly State High School)
    • Sponsored by Brisbane Airport Corporation, BDA, GE Aviation and Virgin Australia

The Assistant Director-General said he is excited to see the continued commitment and support of all the Aerospace industry partners involved in this unique program.

“By encouraging partnerships between Aerospace industries and schools, we are creating an environment that nurtures the talent of Queensland school students while creating pathways for a well-trained and skilled workforce.” Mr. Koch said.

Kelly Breen, Aerospace Teacher from Indooroopilly State High School, won the prestigious award for teachers, a professional development opportunity to Space Camp, in Alabama, USA.

Recognised for her outstanding commitment to teaching excellence within the field of aerospace education, Mrs. Breen is only the second female in the history of the Awards to receive the top honour. She impressed the judging panel with her ability to step outside her comfort zone to learn other aspects of aviation she is not familiar with as well as her quest to inspire students into the industry.

The Gateway to Industry Schools Program is funded by the Department of Education and Training with the program for Aerospace industries starting in January 2004. The initial partnership was between Education Queensland, the former Boeing Australia Limited (now BDA) and Aviation Australia.

Six schools were initially targeted for the program and today there are a total of 17 Aerospace Gateway Schools, with 400 students throughout Queensland studying the senior secondary subject, Aerospace Studies and supported by more than 30 aerospace industry partners. The success of the program has also resulted in three major Queensland universities launching direct entry programs for high achieving Aerospace Gateway School graduates.

Aerospace_Industry_Education_Awards_21-11-17_0008 Aerospace_Industry_Education_Awards_21-11-17_0014

View news archive